Reality Bites

The_Idiot_-_John_Kendrick_Bangs_-_cover_-_Project_Gutenberg_eText_18881

Now it’s time for America to bind the wounds of division …

Congratulations, President-Elect. You opened those wounds,  just as you closed the book on morality and decency.

For those who have chosen not to support me in the past, of which there are a few people. . .

(LAUGHTER)

. . .I’m reaching out to you for your guidance and your help so we can work together and unify our great country.

We are now in mourning.

But the blame for this mess lies as much at our feet as yours. Too many of us swallowed your messages of fear, hate, selfishness, and greed, and we’re about to learn the consequences of that.

Worst case scenario: the ugly fallout will be far-reaching and long lasting. The strides we’ve made, or may have made–in gender equality, human rights, gun control, environmental protections, affordable health care, inclusion, leading by example–will be obliterated in your wake. Your policies will set us back decades, if not centuries. You’re leadership will take us down the road to ruin.

Tremendous potential. I’ve gotten to know our country so well — tremendous potential. It’s going to be a beautiful thing. Every single American will have the opportunity to realize his or her fullest potential. The forgotten men and women of our country will be forgotten no longer.

Did you think we’d forget?

Say what you will about togetherness, Donald Trump. Your actions were unconscionable. Unforgiveable.

But as I’ve said, we did this to ourselves. It’s a shame, it really is. A travesty. A bitter commentary on what this country has allowed itself to become.

Deep breath. . .

Like thousands of others yesterday, I slid in and out of mourning; my anguish peppered with bouts of nausea, gut-wrenching fear, utter hopelessness. What an awful, awful day it was.

My husband and I talked about that. We mourn, yes, and we’ll will allow ourselves to mourn. But we can’t allow ourselves to sink into a deep and long-lasting depression that will only serve to hurt us, and accomplish nothing. The truth is, That man is going to be our president. What’s done is done. Nothing is going to change it.

But we do have options.

Last night, mr kk suggested ways we might temper our despair: think good thoughts, read the Serenity Prayer, list things we’re grateful for, relive happy memories–in other words, count our blessings.

I need to do that and I will–likely, many times–today, and in the days to come. But first, I need to make a declaration to this country’s president-elect: Your values aren’t my values, Donald Trump. Your empty platitudes don’t speak for me. I will never forget the things you’ve said, the damage you’ve done.

That person will never be my president.

3 thoughts on “Reality Bites

  1. Nor mine. I’m not a big enough person to accept him. I don’t believe one word that ever spews from his thrust-out maw.

    The way I see it, my job going forward will be to boost women, ally with the black community however I can, support immigrants, and work to take back congress in the next midterm. Go ahead R-boys, try to pass all your rights-limiting legislation. We’re like zits out here. The more you squeeze, the bigger the chance we’re going to pop pus all over you.

    • Great visual, YES. Fuck ’em. Fuck their efforts to undermine the best of us, the best in us.

      Mr kk is hopeful. Me, not so much. I truly despise the man. His cronies make me want to puke. And yes, I am afraid for this country and the path it appears to be on right now. But I refuse to be complacent. I’m going to speak up. Vote when I can. Write to my congress people. Support those who need it, oppose those who threaten, who spew hate. . .

      Looks like we have some real work ahead of us, puppy. If that’s okay with you, it’s okay with me.

      xo kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

