The Day After

The_Idiot_-_John_Kendrick_Bangs_-_cover_-_Project_Gutenberg_eText_18881

I woke up this morning, pulled up yesterday’s post, and cringed. Because I knew that what I’d done is exactly what the staunch followers of ISIS have done: Reduce human beings to an ideology. Take humanity out of the equation. Slap a label on it.

Obliterate the human face.

ISIS isn’t The Beast. It’s a belief system that means different things to different people: a way of life, a better life, the path to paradise. I’m angered and afraid of those who set people on fire or slit their throats or blow them up or riddle their bodies with bullets because they are non-believers or infidels or Jews or black or gay or. . . you get the picture. I say, Believe what you want, I don’t care. But just because I may not believe what you believe. . .

Anyway. I’m leaving yesterday’s post up, but I’m deleting the parts that reduce followers of ISIS to a label, a caricature. That includes the illustration I used. Bottom line: Labels reduce human beings to dogma. We need to stop labeling, and start trying to understand as much as we can about the people who join ISIS. Right now, I think the mindset of those who both ascribe to the tenets of ISIS, and those who are trying to stop them, is that we need to eradicate the enemy by any means necessary. You can’t kill thoughts with guns and bombs.

You can change minds, though.

2 thoughts on “The Day After

  1. Right now I think the beast is ignorance, both of those who join isis, and those who want to lump everyone who lives in that part of the world together, labeling each individual as a generic terrorist/threat. (((((hugs))))) kk

  2. I think you’re right, mrs fringe. Ignorance is the real enemy. There’s a quote by the Dalai Lama: Where ignorance is our master, there is no possibility of real peace.

    Peace be with you this day, my dear. Peace on earth. All that good stuff.

    xoxo kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

