Stuff

Attrib.: Michael Maggs, Wikimedia Commons

Attrib.: Michael Maggs, Wikimedia Commons.

Yeah, it’s been one of those days. So I grabbed my camera and started walking around this pop stand, snapping pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Found the painting above at an antique store and had to get it because it reminded me of my beloved Horseneck Beach in Westport, Mass. I think the artist’s name is Alexander but so far, no info. I’ll keep looking.

Below are pix of some of the little farm animal figurines in my kitchen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then next two pix are of a hand-made frame I found at a yard sale. I stuck the sweet cow photo in there but it’s that frame that most interests me. From the front it looks like an average wooden frame, but the back is like Fort Knox. . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have three Eastern Black Swallowtails right now, in various stages of life. One’s still tiny, living and munching on sprigs of fresh dill. That photo is too blurry, but the next two are decent enough to post. One is of a pupa, right now in the process of metamorphosis. (The little lump on the body is shed skin.) The other little guy latched onto the inside lip of a coffee can last night. I keep checking, hoping I’ll catch him in the act of splitting his skin. I can’t fathom what these little guys go through, what they experience–

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My little house is peppered with displays of this and that. In the hall we have a desk, our phone is on there. And a small ceramic angel my sister-in-law made for me, gazing at a framed postcard of fairies listening to a flower gramophone.

And in my bathroom. . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And in my kitchen, on a window ledge, I keep some of my favorite fossils and rocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In one of my novels, the main character keeps a journal. At one point, drunk on his ass, he pens the following line. Which I love, can’t help it. Enough to print it out and frame it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

😉

4 thoughts on “Stuff

  1. I too have a rock collection, and fossils. And a ceramic collection of roosters in my kitchen from of my grandmother, all I have left of her to touch. I gasped at the back of that picture frame! Love it. And your final picture made me smile and nod. Yes!

    • I’m a sucker for good rocks and fossils, always have been. One of my favorite books is ‘Stone Girl, Bone Girl.’ As for that picture frame, as soon as I saw that delightfully unexpected complexity in the back, I knew I had to buy the thing.

      Some of my little farm animal figurines are from my Grandma, too. And I cherish her through them, as you do with your Grandma’s little treasures.

      ❤ kk

  2. I love your rocks! I pick up rocks (and sometimes fossils) while out and about, and my fiancé pokes gentle fun at me for it.

    I also love your fairies + gramophone, imagines like that really speak to me for whatever reason.

    • That fairy postcard was sent to me by my sister, which makes it that much more special. She ‘gets’ me. In fact, that one photo of stuff on my bathroom shelf includes three items from her: the small, old ‘Adhesive Strips’ jar, that little figurine , and the framed card in back, which reads, “To Someone.”

      As for you and your quirky little passion for rocks and fossils, it’s part of what makes you who you are.

      xoxo kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

