This & That

child-clipart-flower garden
The night of the Blue Moon, I headed outside to witness the magic, but the moon was too low in the sky, and my backyard is peppered with fruit trees and crisscrossed with phone and electrical wires.

Then my husband drove up into the driveway, saw me and said, Come on, I have to show you the moon! So, in my pjs and bare feet, I climbed in and we took off, drove down some side streets–

There it was. this incredible orb pinned to a starry sky, right in between two houses, just the perfect, perfect view.

It’s little things like that I cherish. Like sitting under a big chestnut tree with my mom and sisters on a lovely summer day, talking and laughing and catching up. Even if my sister and I both got tickets for parking in the street between the hours of noon and four on trash day.

But the ticket was only ten bucks, and for that, I’m grateful.

I’m grateful for other things, too. Like the young six-point buck that crossed in front of my van before bounding over a culvert and into the woods.

Like my sweet kitty Max, sitting on the rocker, patiently waiting for me to give him a ride.

Like sharing a virtual coffee every morning with my dear NYC buddy.

Like my Eastern Black Swallowtail caterpillar, attached to a stick in a coffee can, ready to slip off his skin and begin that unbelievable process of changing into a butterfly.

Like hearing mr. kk singing, or watching him cook me breakfast, or losing myself in his familiar embrace.

Little things. Reading a really good book. The rain pounding on my bedroom window. Heading out to the garden with a bucket to pick cucumbers and summer squash. Hearing the buzzsaw of cicadas on a perfect summer evening. Watching fireflies low and night-hawks high. Eating a warm tomato right off the vine.

Thinking of blessings. Possibilities. . .

4 thoughts on “This & That

  1. Your post reminded me of a cherished time of my own. If I’ve already shared it I apologize for the repetition. My parents had come to spend a few days with us. Mom was playing with the kids and I didn’t know where dad had gone. I happened to look out the kitchen window and saw him in the back garden sitting beside our fish pond. He was reading in the sunshine and feeding the fish. It was the last time I ever saw him. He passed away shortly afterward.

  2. I love everything about your story, and especially the imagery of: “Then my husband drove up into the driveway, saw me and said, Come on, I have to show you the moon! So, in my pjs and bare feet, I climbed in and we took off, drove down some side streets–”

    • I’m glad. Sometimes it’s the small moments we hold most dear.

      There’s a little plaque hanging on my wall, you may have seen it in a catalog: Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you’ll look back and realize they were the big things.

      Yep.

      ❤ kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

