Happy Happy Joy Joy!!!!

Attribution: Kyrill Poole, Wikimedia Commons

Attribution: Kyrill Poole, Wikimedia Commons

*deep breath*

After three years of querying CHERRY, revising CHERRY, querying and revising and querying and revising and querying and. . . you know. . .

🙂

I have an agent, you guys!!!! OMG, I HAVE AN AGENT!!!!!

His name is Brent Taylor. The agency is TriadaUS. And he’s calling me in just about  half an hour so I’m going to try to make this quick.

I’m still on Cloud 9, reeling from the events of the past week, when I went from yet another rejection to agent representation. And in the end, it was nothing less than serendipity that led me to Brent. That, or dumb luck. The grace of God, maybe. (Echoes of my mc David Brandt, ringing in my ears.)

Perseverance on my part, for sure. Taking chances. Following my gut.

So there I was, 1500+ miles from home, in Texas, USA. Mr. kk and I were five days into that awesome vacation, visiting my beloved aunt and uncle, having just a great trip, a wonderful time. I’d taken my laptop and one evening, I happened to check my emails and lo and behold, there was an email from an agent who’d worked with Agent X, remember her? She’s the one who’d so graciously offered me the opportunity to revise and resubmit CHERRY, then decided she was leaving agenting for her dream job. BUT, she’d said, there are other folks at this agency, really fine agents so don’t be afraid to query them.

I wasn’t going to, not at first. I sent out seven or eight queries to other agents and then, on a whim, just before we left on our trip, I thought, You know what? I should mosey on over to Agency X, see if somebody else there might be a good fit for CHERRY.

That’s how I found the agent who emailed me, down Texas-way. She liked what she saw (query and first two cpts.) and asked for the synopsis. Which I promptly sent. And then, the next day, she emailed me again. To paraphrase, she said that she could see brilliance in CHERRY, but it was not quite her forte. My novel deserved an agent who was passionate about the story. She had somebody in mind, and in fact had already contacted this person, and he was very interested and so, she said, Query him, kk. Do it soon, don’t wait and good, good luck to you.

So I did.

And within five minutes, I received an email from Mr. Brent Taylor, asking me to please send the full, asap.

Next thing I know, I’m talking to Brent Taylor on the phone, listening to this amazing person tell me how much he loved my book, how much it affected him. . .

He said parts of the story made him cry. I’m doing that right now. I’d better stop, he’s calling here in less than twenty flipping minutes.

The rest, as they say, is history. I’m so, so grateful, so happy, so ready to get this process rolling. Brent has suggested some revisions, which I am open to because, as I told him, I’m at the point now where I want CHERRY to be the best damn novel I can possibly, possibly write, and I’m willing to do what it takes to make that happen, get my novel out there, picked up, sold. Brent is bright, quick, intuitive, I know he is and he loves my book. TriadaUS and its founder, Dr. Uwe Stender, are well respected in the industry. What more can I ask for? I know I’m in capable hands.

I have an agent. And all I can say is, if it can happen to me, it can happen to you. Don’t give up, keep working it. I do want to thank everybody who has helped and supported me, who gave me virtual hugs and kicks in the ass, somehow knowing which I needed at exactly the right time. One of those people is my dear friend mrs fringe, who told me so many months ago, when I was knee-deep in rejections and feeling like nobody would ever take a chance on CHERRY: It only takes one, kk.

You were right, mrs fringe. I found my one. Miracles happen, you guys.

19 thoughts on “Happy Happy Joy Joy!!!!

  1. YAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY!!!! YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!!!!!! After such a long journey with so many heartbreaks (oh I remember the disappointments, the false hope, the sheer exhaustion of having to keep slogging), this blog post is a loooooong time coming. I’m so glad that you and Brent found each other!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • I am so happy for real. And ready to get to woik, as they say. I talked to Brent and got all excited all over again. Or more excited. Surely, this can’t be real.

      Except it is, ain’t it?

      *happy sigh*

      Yeah, a long journey, and one not yet complete. But I’m gearing up for Phase Two. Whatever it takes. That’s my new mantra. Ply myself with copious amounts of joe and get myself ready to kick some CHERRY ass–

      cowomnom, thank you, thank you, and thank you some more!!!

      xoxo kk

  2. YAY KK!!! It was inevitable – Cherry is just too good not to be beloved by millions. And Effin’ Albert, too! But you’re so right that it took lots of perseverance, hard work, and following your gut. Brent is one lucky agent to have such a talented, brilliant, and soooooper sweet client like you!! ❤

    • And now I shall faint dead away, just like they do in the movies. . .

      Okay, I’m back. 🙂

      Millions. Wouldn’t that be so, so awesome? And thinking about my beloved ALBERT, those two little boys waiting on the wings right now, holding their collective breath in anticipation–

      Methinks I’d better take a step back and get real, but this is good. Really, really good and I am enjoying the hell out of it, tell you what. And I can’t say enough great things about Brent. I’m liking that guy more and more, if that’s possible. He is my dream agent, I do believe. I know who the lucky one is.

      Thank you, Lusty. For everything.

      xoxo kk

  3. +1 This post was a long time coming…BUT, I like to think that is because you needed *this* agent, and he wasn’t ready for you and Cherry until now. I can’t wait for him to read your other work (Effin’ comes to mind), and hope you two have a long and successful partnership. All best to you, kk! Happy day indeed!

    • Courtney!!!

      You’re right, it was a long time coming, but I have a feeling it was me and CHERRY who weren’t ready. I’d revised and revised and revised and then, that offer to R&R and there I was, finding myself revising the thing some more. And even though it didn’t work out with Agent X, she helped me so much, and she got me thinking of querying her fellow agent, and that wonderful person was kind enough to direct me to Brent, and. . .

      It had to happen that way, I think. Because I don’t know if CHERRY was Brent-worthy, two months ago. I KNOW it wasn’t worthy a year ago; God, two years ago. The two of us had to evolve and now. . .

      Now, we’ll see what happens. CHERRY isn’t quite sub-ready, so I’ll be working on that, hopefully, too busy writing/revising to whine too much on this little blog, but I’m going to try to keep posts kind of current as everything pans out.

      Thank you for your kind words, and for sharing this happy day with me, Courtney!!!

      xoxo kk

  4. I’ve squee-edd, I’ve whee-ed, I’m still whooping for joy for you. No one deserves this more, and you know how much I adore Cherry. I’m wishing you and Brent a very fruitful partnership. Now break out the champagne! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • The only champagne we have in this house is the bottle we bought to celebrate the new millennium. That was uhhh. . . eek. Still in the fridge, way in the back. I bet it’s rank by now but who cares, I bet we’re never opening that bad boy now. It’s a matter of principle, dammit!

      🙂

      And now it’s late, and I have squee’d so much I’m running on fumes. But not too tired to thank my sweet mrs fringe for squee-ing and whooping, esp. when she’s in such a fragile and delicate state. Sleep well, honey. Pleasant dreams and coffee in the morning, thank God.

      xoxo kk

  5. That is absolutely awesome, kk!! I’ve always thought your writing was fabulous (from what I’ve seen on AW) and am so delighted that you have an agent — very well deserved! –Donna Gough

    • Donna, you have been so kind and supportive through this arduous process, and here you are, offering more of the same. I shall try to be deserving.

      Thank you so much, Donna.

      ❤ kk

      P.S. I am equally delighted. 🙂

    • Heck, I make myself cry.

      I do believe it’s real, I truly do and with Brent’s insight and expertise, I know CHERRY has a real shot.

      Thank you so, so, so much Jen. You’re support and now this, today, means so much to me.

      xoxo kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

