Blurp.

Attribution: Ernst Vikne, Wikimedia Commons

Attribution: Ernst Vikne, Wikimedia Commons

That’s been me of late, kind of like that.

Hey guys, long time no post. Just thought I’d stop in, see how everybody’s doing. Good, I hope.

Been kind of upended of late. I heard back from that agency in London, did I mention that? Gave them 30+ days and heard zip, so I bit the bullet and sent a brief email, gently inquiring as to what the hell was going on.

No I didn’t. I was the consummate professional. Still got my ass kicked though. A nice, brief no thank you, we read your story with interest but decided it didn’t fit ourย list.

So, back to Square One, as they say. I’ve been querying. Proud of myself for doing it, not allowing myself to burn too long from the sting. These things happen. Although, to be totally honest, I have–for the last week or so–been stuck in a kind of a funk. Yesterday was the culmination: I woke unhappy, and it went downhill from there. I felt like yelling and/or crying, didn’t matter which, so I drove to my nature trail which is usually a spiritual balm for me, but it did nada for my piss-poor constitution. What finally helped was getting a decent night’s sleep, which is a crap shoot on my best day.

Today, I feel tuckered out but relatively happy. That’s always a good thing. I’m industrious, too. I just finished taking down all the little farm animal figurines and such from this wooden shelf thing my dad made for my brother back in the late ’50’s. My brother made dinosaur dioramas: sand and plastic dinosaurs, plastic palm trees and trolls and stuff. They’re gone, taken over by little ceramic and glass pigs, cows, lambs and roosters. I washed every pig, cow, lamb and rooster, and they’re drying on the counter as we speak. in my kitchen, right above the table there, in between two windows, one of which is open right now to let in that lovely spring breeze. Getting up to 70 today, very nice outside. Mr. kk took off golfing for the first time this year and I’m going to have a nice chicken dinner waiting for him when he gets home.

We’re going on a trip, did I mention that? Heading down TX way. We’ve been taking other people with us on trips, my mom and mr kk’s mom, our sisters, friends. I swear, I can’t remember the last time he and I went on our own, beholdin’ to nobody. We’re looking forward to it, tell you that. I keep looking at the long-range forecasts for places along our route, it’s early yet and subject to change but right now, I’m seeing some 80 and 90-degree days. I went through my closet already looking for shorts, can you believe it? In April????!! It’s going to be great, I think.

So. Querying. And I committed to the NaNoWriMo Writing Camp thingie for this month. I know, can you believe it? So I pulled up DIARY OF A SOULLESS BOY and I’ve been working on that. Not easy though, my mind’s been kind of scattered. Still, I’ve managed to write a thousand words or so and the month isn’t over. Yet.

As for CHERRY, I am waiting for one more trusted beta to read it and give me the green light. Whilst waiting, I actually messed with the ending. Again. Almost there. I’m feeling really antsy about it because I promised the revised version to two editors back in November. I have to get that thing out. And although both may say no, may decide it doesn’t fit their list or whatever, I have faith in CHERRY and ALBERT both, I do. Maybe I didn’t last week but I do today, and that is going to move me forward, dang it. To query more, get the word out because, as I’ve said numerous times ad nauseam, if I don’t do it, it ain’t getting done.

That’s about it from this neck of the woods. I just wanted to touch base, say hi, tell y’all (note that TX drawl, I’m working it ๐Ÿ™‚ ) that kk is still alive and kicking, and doing okay. As of today, anyway.

I hope you guys are, too.ย โค

5 thoughts on “Blurp.

  1. I’m sorry about the London agency ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but WOOOO ROAD TRIP!! I hope you have a lot of fun! Road trips always give me some kernels of inspiration, if not a whole damn ear of corn (if I’m not mixing my metaphors. That’s the kernels people are referring to, right? Not “colonels of inspiration”? Because then you’d have to be historically accurate and be like “This is my General Sherman of inspiration” and frankly, that’s a very strange unit of measure.)

    I had a short short short story published. And….got a full request! But they want the full AND the synopsis, and so guess what I need to do that starts with “w” and ends with “rite a synopsis”? (you probably guessed ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    • Jen, I think it is kernel, like, little nubbin, ready to burst into song or whatever. ๐Ÿ™‚

      What I also want to say to you is, WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!! Short story published AND full request!!!!!!!!!!!! As for the dreaded synopsis, you can do eeet!!! I have written two now, and I had no idea at all how to do it, so there is hope for you. Absolute Write’s Query Letter Hell has synopsis threads (I think both of mine are there) and people will help you if you post your own, so there’s assistance out there. Avail yourself!

      Thank you for writing and best of luck to you, Jen!

      xoxo kk

  2. I’m glad you’re still going. I know how it feels. I’ve been working on my fantasy for years now. I think it keeps getting better. People certainly complain about it less. The real question is how agents will feel once I try to get it out there. I’ve been majorly deterred since I queried another novel almost two years ago now. I see it’s flaws now, but I still love it. It’s the kind of project I keep tinkering with, but I’m waiting until I sign on with something else to really brush up. The problem is I’m not satisfied enough to get my fantasy project out there. Will it be good enough. I love it, but will anyone else. I need to bite the bullet and send stuff out once I finish this round of revisions.

    And TX welcomes you. I love it here.

    • I know what you mean about not being satisfied enough. Personally, I don’t think I will ever, ever be satisfied enough. I imagine holding one of my published novels in my hand, flipping to page x and cringing because I know, I KNOW, I could have written that second line in the third paragraph better than I did. I keep tweaking the ending of CHERRY for the same reason, looking for that elusive sweet spot that may exist in my mind alone. . .

      But enough about me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Like I said, get your stuff out there asap, make sure in your own mind you aren’t holding back due to fear of failure/fear of not being good enough, in other words, FEAR. Oh wait, I’m talking about myself again.

      ๐Ÿ™‚

      xoxo kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

