The Internet of Things

Ultraviolet_image_of_the_Cygnus_Loop_Nebula_crop

STAR DATE: 10.3.2014.

I’m kidding. Kind of. I just stumbled on something really weird and . . . I don’t know. Maybe it really has been around for a while and maybe it truly is The Future, but I’ve never heard of it. Not until today, this evening, whilst searching the plain ol’ net for . . . something. Actually, I can’t recall. Stocks? Where to put your money, not that I have any. . .

Back to it. So there I was, mindlessly surfing away, and I found this–for lack of a better word–thing. Or concept. Or maybe it’s more of a trend. A business plan. No, a service. Service agreement? An integration of our stuff and The Cloud (whatever the hell that is). . .

They call it the “Internet of Things” and it’s important. I think. Really important, but I don’t quite get it. A lot of people do, though. There are web sites dedicated to it, discussing the merits of it and not just the merits, the probability that this “Internet of Things” thingie is going to overshadow today’s internet in ways we cannot fathom; that we, right now, are standing on the cusp of the thing that is going to change our world as we know it.

The Internet of Things is THE NEXT BIG THING.

And it’s already here. I found a website for AllSeen Alliance ( https://allseenalliance.org/ ) a non-profit organization already boasting 70+ member companies including big guns like Sony, Panasonic, and Microsoft, and smaller companies I’ve never heard of, like MOXTREME, Ping Identity, octoblu, muzzley, SHASPA, and twobulls–all these companies, working together (!!!) to develop and share (!!!) software code that will

“. . .enable all the ‘things’ in the Internet of Things to work together.”

All the ‘things’? Working together? Seriously?? Wow.

But what does that really mean?

I’ve been trying to wrap my head around that question. I read and reread AllSeen’s mission statement, which includes this goal: to work toward the widespread adoption/acceleration of  “development and evolution of an interoperable peer connectivity and communications framework . . . for devices and applications in the Internet of Everything.”

Interoperable. Peer connectivity. A communications framework.

For our stuff. For stuff our stuff does. For our cars and watches and light bulbs and phones, our shoes, books, pill bottles, hip replacement hardware, socks, refrigerators, medical histories, our selves–our bodies. Our environments. Our biological footprints. Can you imagine? Everything connected to everything else in a meaningful way. It truly is incredible.

But I’m not . . . quite . . . grasping. . .

4 thoughts on “The Internet of Things

  1. It means smart people will have to figure out how to stop that from happening somehow. I don’t know how; don’t pretend to even understand exactly how this new, improved IoT would work.

    Heck, I don’t even really get what it IS.

    And like I said, I didn’t know a thing about it ’til this very night.

    It’s exciting stuff. And scary. Like we’re standing on this precipice of knowledge, heady from imagining all possibilities, eager to rush headlong into this Bold New World. But there are a lot of unknowns out there. You’re right to be concerned, Courtney.

    It would behoove us to watch our step.

    xoxo kk

  2. This is the kind of thing I love fictioning about and declaring Welcome to the World of Tomrrow!

    Even without The Internet of Things, pacemakers can already be hacked. And those diabetes pumps. Why anybody would want to hack, say, programmable LEDs in a house I don’t know, but Hackers™ are like that; the “because I can” situation, not even maliciously all the time.

    • I know what you mean. Sometimes, the scenario is more “Lookie what I can do” than “Mwahahahah”.

      Regardless, pushing boundaries involves risk, esp. when that push is fraught with unseen variables. You can’t foresee every possible glitch or hack. There are going to be issues, some minor, some major–ethical, or otherwise.

      Still, the idea that technology has advanced so quickly in such a short period of time, relatively speaking, is bloody amazing to me. It seems to be evolving exponentially. Where that will ultimately lead the human race, I don’t know. Hopefully, we’ll be good stewards and now I’m thinking of global warning. . . we’d best start pretty damn quick.

      Thank you for your comments, Jen. Always appreciated.

      ❤ kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

