Do-over

 "Eadweard Muybridge. Animal locomotion: an electro-photographic investigation of consecutive phases of animal movements. 1872-1885 / published under the auspices of the University of Pennsylvania. Plates. The plates printed by the Photo-Gravure Company. Philadelphia, 1887."

“Eadweard Muybridge. Animal locomotion: an electro-photographic investigation of consecutive phases of animal movements. 1872-1885 / published under the auspices of the University of Pennsylvania. Plates. The plates printed by the Photo-Gravure Company. Philadelphia, 1887.”

That’s a mouthful, yep. But worth it.

See that guy? Not the one on his hands and knees. Almost looks like supplication. Maybe that was me, head lowered in deference to every person who’s ever read my blog.

It that was me, it was me yesterday.

Today, I’m more like the other guy, poised to do that flip, take that chance. Count on the other guy to keep me steady, shore me up whilst I take that leap of faith and yeah, I’m naked as a jay bird, letting it ALL hang out. Exposing my vulnerabilities, putting it out there. . .

Like I said, I’ve done a lot of thinking these last couple of days. This is in addition to querying ALBERT and CHERRY because I’ve definitely been doing that–researching agents, poking and prodding, almost-but-not-quite committing except for a choice few. Each of whom have a couple of things in common, to wit:

1) They are drawn to strong ‘voice’.

2) They’re seeking lit fic and/or suspense.

3) They’re open to chancy, off-beat novels, AS LONG AS THEY’RE EXTREMELY WELL-WRITTEN, AS LONG AS THE PLOT IS INTERESTING AND PLAUSIBLE, AS LONG AS THE CHARACTERS ARE–IF NOT LIKEABLE–AT LEAST, WELL-WROUGHT.

So, in addition to querying, I’ve done a lot of thinking these last couple of days. Thinking about this blog, about what I hoped to accomplish, what I wanted to gain from it. And some really savvy folks generously gave me their take on the subject, on my particular blog, and on blogging and such in general. Some of those responses appear on my recent blog posts and some came to me via email. Venue doesn’t matter. I read what every last one of them had to say; considered what they were telling me, and this is my conclusion:

I need a do-over.

Rewind this puppy. Regroup and start again. Take that plunge and trust the other guy to be there, no matter what. That’s what I’m doing, guys. And I thank you very much, please keep sticking with me, I need you, that much I know. I ain’t writing NOTHIN’ in a vacuum, and I don’t want to. I don’t know if I’m going to falter or how hard I’m going land, but life is rife with missteps. The key is, try anyway. And if you fuck it up, get yourself up and try, try again. One of these times you’re bound to land on your feet. And until you do, you have folks spotting you, shoring you up, cheering you on, giving you a swift kick when you need it, (((hugs))) when you need it more.

I shall persevere with this little blog, take a chance and go where it takes me. And I’m going to enjoy the ride, knowing I’m in capable hands, and damn fine company.

4 thoughts on “Do-over

  1. Janet Reid had a blog question today where the author was asking whether since she/he was old, should she/he bother querying- since an agent would probably want a young client with a long writing career in front of them.

    JR basically said, “it’s your call on self-pub or agent route,” but that at the end of they day, they were writing because they loved the work.

    And so I would say if you love the blog, keep it and work on it and love it, touch it, pet it how often you like. I’ll be here reading it as you go. But you shouldn’t have it just to appease some potential future agent who may or may not give a fat damn.

    I don’t have a blog. If pressured to I would create a static page for “web presence.” But that’s how I roll. I’ve got lots of different accounts on different forums, twitter under a different name, ect. I’m not looking for the “community” to know me, nor all aspects of me. I’m getting something from the community at large, in bits and pieces, in different places, to meet different needs. If an agent has a problem with that, we wouldn’t be a good fit anyway.
    Take it easy, Ms. K. Do what you do.
    All best,
    Courtney

    • Aw hell. I am a humble bumble, Courtney. You know what you want, what you’re willing to do to get it, and you aren’t beholden to anyone but yourself. Which is certainly not to say that you don’t seek out, and connect with, other people, because you do.

      Lucky me.

      Thank you, Courtney. I am very appreciative of this post.

      xo kk

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

