Disconnect

I’ve immersed myself in querying CHERRY and ALBERT and sometimes it’s frustrating. I feel pulled a thousand different ways and I put so much pressure on myself to get it right.

So yesterday, I wrote a blog about querying.

453PX-~1

I thought writing about the demands and frustrations inherent to the querying process might touch a nerve with other writers. I thought writers might pop in, perhaps be moved to add their two cents to the mix, commiserate and whatnot. I thought, Surely, other writers have felt this same way. Surely they know what I’m talking about. We have a connection. . .

Thus far I’ve made two connections that I know of. My issue isn’t with them–not by a hair or a smidgeon. My issue is with this blog: the viability, or maybe the validity, of this little blog. See, I’ve been trying to focus less on kkellie. . .

Attribution: Martin SoulStealer

Attribution: Martin SoulStealer

. . .and connect more with my readers. I say I’ve been trying. I think I have. Regardless, I don’t know if it’s working. I’m thinking, not so much.

Attribution: Cirt (WikimediaCommons)

Attribution: Cirt (WikimediaCommons)

Whilst querying, I’ve come across a number of literary agents who profess to seeking out a potential client’s social network. Twitter. Blogs. Websites. They’re looking for evidence that the writer is putting herself out there, can and will champion her own work, do her own part to get that work sold; that the writer isn’t a nut, or an ass, or a royal pain in one. They want evidence that the writer has a solid platform, that she can and does communicate and connect effectively with readers. After all, that’s the key to selling novels, right?

So, taking a long, hard look at my blog through that lens, how successful have I been?

According to the stats, not very. This isn’t a whine, cry for sympathy or anything like that. Just stating a fact. Here are some more: I have over sixty official followers of this little blog (and I thank every last one of them). Of that group, there are some folks, like Jen and Mrs Fringe, who stop by pretty regularly. God, I appreciate the hell out of them.

464px-William-Adolphe_Bouguereau_(1825-1905)_-_Fraternal_Love_(1851)

You listening, you guys??? But in all honesty, I would say that maybe twenty percent of this blog’s followers–if that–accounts for 95% of comments made.

:p

Thinking now about those smart and savvy literary agents who regularly check out prospective clients’ social networks. What would this little blog say about this writer? Somehow, I need to make this blog more user-friendly, more inviting. More controversial, maybe. Or intellectually stimulating. More entertaining. More about writing, about the process of writing, the craft, more about others who do it every single day, who slog through despite the setbacks, and who triumph every now and again. More about my fellow writers and less about kkellie and her personal experiences. Which might matter a heck of a lot to her, but to others out in cyberspace–those folks she hopes to connect with; needs to connect with. . .

 

11 thoughts on “Disconnect

    • I’m bucking up, Ashley. Just want to do it right. As for making those connections, no doubt, for a lot of bloggers, it’s a challenge. The writers of blogs with a wide and faithful audience have earned it, of that I’m certain.

      This blog post is a wake-up call. If something ain’t working as well as you hope it will, it’s time to change it up. So that’s what I hope to do. HOW, I don’t know yet. Until then, I shall continue to be grateful to those who’ve stuck with me, as well as those who stop by.

      Thank you for posting, Ashley. I shall endeavor to keep your comments in mind.

      xo kk

  1. It takes time, kk. Time, and reaching out and commenting on other blogs. I do think it’s pretty typical/standard for commenters to be a core group, with the occasional post prompting response from the larger community.
    I’m thinking.

  2. I am completely and utterly MEH about the pressure to social network. I started my blog at the suggestion of its importance, and in the beginning I went in hard. This didn’t suit me though and I was at risk of falling out of love with blogging.
    If I could go back I’d not set up a facebook but it’s there now so it stays! lol. Keeping up with all the blogging, tweeting and status updating gets in the way of my writing and I am not – or at least I don’t consider myself – a fast writer so the social networking is a little detrimental for me.

    I find a pace that suits me and I keep it. As for reaching out? It’s slow but never forced. All the people I’ve reached out to I’ve only done so out of genuine interest. Sometimes I feel like I have that 6 degrees of separation thing going on with you, S.L Huang and Tex!
    If I come across someones writing that I really like, I tell them. From that, I always have material to read whether it’s on their blog or in their books and a connection with no request to reciprocate is made!

    I stopped watching my followers and paying too much attention to view count. I look at my blog as a way of meeting new people, and I know it’s probably dumb, but clean out my twitter regularly, keeping it under 150.

    I could go on about this all day, like how 5000 followers aren’t great if you only have real contact with a small percentage. Same goes for facebook pages and likes (I only learnt this recently!). Likes don’t equate to how much people read your page, and worse, if they stop after a while, facebook stops sending them your feeds.

    Social networking is a lot of pressure. Isn’t writing full of so much of that already? Your last blog post proves that! Having an online presence is good but I don’t think it should be the be all and end all. For every agent that says it’s a must, you’ll find others with a different opinion.

    http://jetreidliterary.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/i-love-seeing-evidence-of-idiot-agents.html

    Some like to just see that you have some form of presence to know that come the time, you’ll be comfortable in helping to spread the word about your book. They like to see you have something you can build on. Either way, the last thing you want is for that great book you are writing to be slowed down by the idea that you need to have a foundation for promoting it. That sounds like working backwards to me.

    By all means, if you have the time, ZOOOOOOOOM ahead, if not, def give it some thought. 60 followers is not bad at all. Lack of comments don’t mean lack of readers. I swear!

    • What a thoughtful post, S.E. Dee. . I’ve read it twice. I’m going to read it again.

      What am I doing, huh? Second-guessing myself. I checked out that Janet Reid link and one line pulsated in front of my eyes like a damn. . .

      Hang on. What pulsates? I just Googled “things that pulsate” because that’s what I tend to do: come to some sort of impasse in my writing and immediately start researching, which brings me to this blog: http://dougfarren.blogspot.com/2013/09/09-15-2013-bsinsf-things-that-blink.html

      Doug Farren writes ‘high tech science fiction’ and such. He has some solid opinions relative things that go PULSE in the night. Which gave me an idea for my metaphor–or is it simile?–to continue my original thought (and with a grateful nod to Mr. Farren):

      . . .that Janet Reid link and one line pulsated in front of my eyes like a damn intergalactic computer-interface module beacon thingie:

      Write a great book about something I want to read.

      I understand what she, and you, are saying, S.E. In the world of blogging and tweeting and the like, a well-written novel trumps all. And quantity of blog followers does not equal quality. Actually, in the world of blogging, quantity means squat. And not every soul who reads a blog post will respond to it in writing, but that doesn’t mean the blogger hasn’t struck a chord.

      Bottom line: I don’t need to fret about this little blog. Neither its existence, nor its content, are going to make me, or break me.

      My queries and novels will be taking care of that.

      xoxo kk

  3. Pingback: Gray Skies and Social Media Wallflowers | mrsfringe

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

