sl huang kicks butt

Zero-Sum-Game_COVER

Today I’m paying homage to sl huang, whose novel, ZERO SUM GAME, is poised for release on March 31, 2014. She’s doing it herself, what a woman. Check out her website here:

http://www.slhuang.com/

This morning., sl is featured on Chuck Wendig’s Terrible Minds blog: Five Things I Learned Writing Zero Sum Game. Kick ass post, writing stuff like:

My editor’s name is Anna Genoese, and she was incredible.  Many of her changes were seemingly tiny — a suggested comma here, moving a paragraph break down one sentence there.  But the difference was like the difference between a nice, serviceable handgun versus one with a retouched trigger pull and customized sights and fancy custom grips that fit in your hand like they’re growing out of your palm.  One you might look at and say, “Yeah, cool, this is a solid piece of work,” but the other one you say, “OMG I’M SO TURNED ON I WANT TO LICK THIS WEAPON.”

She has a way with woids. You can read her bomb post in its entirety at:

http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2014/03/27/s-l-huang-five-things-i-learned-writing-zero-sum-game/

Anyway, like I said, sl huang kicks butt. She’s publishing this novel on her own, not only that, she’s crunched the numbers cuz that’s what she does best, and figured that giving it away is going to increase her bottom line. I don’t pretend to understand exactly what she’s doing and how she’s doing it but I swear, if she thinks it’s going to work, it’s going to effin’ work. She’s so smart. Funny. Brave, I mean–what she’s doing is scary as shit and she’s doing it anyway. She’s not only a fine writer but she’s an astute beta reader, honest and supportive. She’s helped and continues to help so many of us at Aye-Dub, me included. She’s championed CHERRY and helped me a shit ton with ALBERT, not to mention the support she gave to me when I was going through that cancer stuff . . . I can’t begin to tell you how much she helped me, how much her help has meant to me.

Sometimes you meet somebody and you know right away, This person is special. I ‘met’ sl huang through Absolute Write and I’m so happy I did, and I’m so effing happy for her right now. I know I ain’t the only one over at AW who’s thrilled for her. I’m wishing her the best, best, best with her novel. With everything. Good things are happening for this very special person, all that hard work and now it’s falling into place. The stars are aligning for sl huang.

About damn time.

Zero Sum Game: Available March 31st, 2014

7 thoughts on “sl huang kicks butt

  1. OH. MY. GOD.

    You’re making me cry. Stoppit. Stoppit!!!

    I don’t even know what to say to this post. *flails* *flails some more*

    Thank you, kk. 🙂 And back atcha times 1000. You’re one of the most wonderful people alive, not to mention a FREAKIN TALENTED WRITER, my friend. I can’t wait to pick up Albert or Cherry in a store.

    SO MANY HUGS.

    • I just saw this, Mrs Fringe. In August. 🙂

      As for sl huang, I add to your good wishes, continued good wishes, for that fine author/person.

      Re: you not joining this lovefest–Too late, you have joined the lovefest by virtue of your post. Shoulda read the fine print, lady.

      xoxo kk

  2. Pingback: In Which I Appear On Other People’s Blogs | SL Huang

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

