Time to get to woik.

Photo credit: Feliciano Guimarães, Wikimedia Commons

photo credit: Feliciano Guimarães, Wikimedia Commons

I’m sitting on my bed, ignoring the urge to pee for a minute because this is important.

🙂

From where I’m sitting I have a good view of our front yard and beyond. I was going to describe the scene but that would stalling and I ain’t doing that no moh. Know why? Because stalling time is over, folks. It’s windy and cold outside, a good day for writing. Crank up the machinery, kk, it’s time to get to back to woik.

I could have waited a bit longer because I still haven’t heard the final verdict from one beta reader, but I have enough feedback from the other three to start tackling revisions. I started doing that today. I tweaked Chapter One. Then I moved some stuff around, pulled from Chapter Four to start Chapter Two, cut some stuff, not too much but I’m definitely going to be streamlining. I’m a little concerned with word count, don’t want to get below 70K but I’ll be adding to this novel, fleshing out characters and such, so it shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

I think it’s apropos that I should be starting work on Draft Two of EFFIN’ ALBERT today, November 1, 2013. Exactly one year ago I began writing the thing, in synch with the start of NaNoWriMo. I didn’t reach the NaNo goal of 50K words in a month–heck, I don’t even  think I reached 3K–but that doesn’t matter. I finished what I started. I’d say that’s an accomplishment, to actually start a novel and finish the damn thing. And I can say with more than a modicum of certainty that, even as is, ALBERT is a decent piece of work. I’m proud of that. My task now is to shape it into a really fine novel. A novel worthy of publication. First ALBERT, then CHERRY. . . unless CHERRY sells first, the possibility of which I’m not discounting but–

Okay. Now I’m stalling.

Back to it. I was going to make a declaration today, on this blog, that whining time for kkellie was over but I think I’m going to hold off on that. Let’s see how this revision process goes. I don’t want to burn any bridges and anyway, I may feel the need to whine, just a little bit. For old times’ sake, maybe. Not today, though. Today is a good day for starting Round Two. I’m ready, willing, and able. And I’ve already started that process so it’s gravy from this point forward. Yep. Time to get to woik but first I’d better go pee.

Just sneezed, dammit.

🙂

7 thoughts on “Time to get to woik.

  1. I hate revision. Worst part of writing. I’m about to start rewriting/revising a novel I finished earlier this year, and oh, isn’t it so lovely so stall? (“Maybe I should write a new short story.” “Maybe I should organize my sock drawer.” Etc, etc.) Best of luck on your revisions!!

  2. Ugh, this is the 3rd time I’m trying to leave a comment. My router and WordPress have been having a spat recently.

    Gotta be careful with those sneezes, you know 😉

    Go YOU! Albert is an excellent work, and it will be sublime when revised. I agree, today was the perfect day to start revisions, for yourself and for the poetic justice. I love those kids 😀

    Stopping here, before I lose my WP connection again.
    xoxo

    • mrs fringe, sorry to hear about your techno-troubles. A bane! A curse! I hope your WP connection difficulties are behind you. Yes, today was a good day to start Round 2. Can’t keep my boys waiting.

      🙂

  3. Revision sure can be something. I still haven’t fully revised/finished The Last Song. But I will.

    Started NaNoWriMo. At least one of my “in person” friends is doing it as well for once, or has at least started. We’ll see how that goes.

    • Hi Jen, good morning. Hope your NaNo masterwork is chugging right along. I actually started to write a new. . .

      I shall not say it aloud. Shall not commit. But meanwhile, I am revising ALBERT. Wishing you good luck on your revisions, too. And on your new one. I do believe we writers are a special breed. Not sure of our genus and species.

      🙂

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

