He said. . .

392px-Angelo_Bronzino_003

Yeah.

A lot of people have read CHERRY, a lot of really smart people from AbsoluteWrite, wonderful writers and I appreciated the heck out of them reading my stuff, giving me such great suggestions, offering their support, telling me. . .

***

I think you’re onto something. . .

***

Fuck, I want to read this so bad. Get it published, ffs. I’ll change the ending in my head and they’ll have a HEA. And then I’ll feel like a wuss for changing the ending, but whatever.

***

A powerful and disturbing story, can’t wait for you to put it out into the world.

***

I just want to read the whole thing! Please, please get it published?.

***

This is just such a good example of hard work and a great story. Good luck with this, kkbe.

***

Ooh, fingers and toesies crossed!.

***

I’m so glad you’re querying this! It feels like I picked it up in a bookstore a year ago, read the jacket and fell in love, but never bought it. I can’t wait to read this when it’s an honest-to-goodness real live book. I really hope it goes well for you.

***

Fantastic! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. Can’t wait to read your novel when it’s published.

***

I’m so happy you’re getting some attention for CHERRY. It’s the type of book I’d snap up in a heartbeat in the store. And I still say your voice is way too unique to not be heard.

***

The fact that I think it is gritty is why I think it’s a story that’s worth telling. It deals with a guy going nowhere fast and derailing himself from that track even further. And having a much more realistic then a lot of stories.  You could have ended with the two characters working out their relationship and living happily ever after. You could have left out the [redacted]. You could have left out the prostitution. You didn’t. You choose the grit. .

***

The magic formula is “keep beating your head against the wall as long as it takes.” And good luck with this. If the book is good then it definitely has a chance, even in a tough market. .

***

I’ve been following your EFFIN’ ALBERT thread in the Mystery SYW, and I know you say it’s different than anything you’ve written before…but dang, I do love your work, and I’m so happy that CHERRY is getting a positive response. Because you can flat-out write.

***

I’m so happy you’re getting some attention for CHERRY. It’s the type of book I’d snap up in a heartbeat in the store. And I still say your voice is way too unique to not be heard.

***

Fingers crossed for you!

***

Dear Writer of the Best Query Letter Ever (aka K.. E…) -Please send that whole manuscript to me [@email to editor] That really was a great query.

***

Dear K–, I’d like to see more. Please hit ‘reply’ to this email, change the subject line to “Requested Materials: CHERRY” and attach the first 50 pages as a Word document. I look forward to reading your submission.

***

Yeah.

So, a lot of amazing people wrote to me and I appreciate the hell out of it. And I sent my query and synopsis and pages and by God, some really fine agents and publishers wanted to read my stuff.

But all the time I was waiting for one person.

I respect the hell out this person. He’s a NYT best-selling author. He’s won the Edgar Award. I wanted to know what this particular person, this wonderful, successful author, thought about my novel. I’ve been waiting and waiting, on pins and needles, to find out what he was going to say.

This morning, I found out. He said to me, he said. . .

I am dead serious when I say this, you are one of the best pure writers I know.  And I know a lot of them.  You’re certainly, without question, the best writer I know who’s currently not in print.  There’s not even a close second. 

He said. . .

In particular, you have this ability to get inside a character’s head and follow the train of thought, and to do it so effortlessly and naturally that you make it just GO.  No matter what’s going on in the actual story. 

He said. . .

That is an amazing gift, of course.  But it can also be a bit of a pitfall for you, I think, because it lets you get away with things that hardly anyone else can.

He said. . .

I can almost feel you slipping back into that comfortable groove at the beginning of every chapter, and believe me, I know how that goes.  It’s so easy to rely on the one thing you know you can do well – and it’s so hard to resist it and take yourself totally out of that comfort zone.

He said. . .

It would be fascinating to see you try writing something where you never let yourself do the one thing you do best. 

***

Yeah.

To quote my mc, David Brandt, I think I have to puke now.

Seriously.

6 thoughts on “He said. . .

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

