getting kinda hairy

Medusa_1895

Hey guys. Wanna know what kkbe looks like lately? Take a gander. I know, right? Yikes. Yeah, I’m getting a little freaked.

See, I started this novel and I don’t how to end the thing. Kinda ridiculous, huh? I write fifty-six thousand words, pretty good, too. I have no trouble thinking up my two main characters, Mike and his brother Albert. I know these kids–how they look, act, think. I know what they say, what they don’t say. I know their mother. I know Asshole and Jerkface. I know how they all met, I know what they did. I know how they got to this point, this particular juncture and I know what has to happen.

I just don’t know how to get there.

Being as I do my best thinking on the road, I went for a drive this morning. Nice morning, right? So I open my window and set the cruise control but things go to hell in a handbasket in a hurry. It’s windy and my hair starts flying every which way, blocking my view. Next thing you know, it’s all I can do to maintain a straight line long enough to get me where the hell I’m going.

Same kinda deal with my book. I was zipping right along but now I don’t know where to go and I’m getting mighty panicky. See that face? Seriously, that’s what I see when I look in the mirror. Why do I think it’s gonna get worse before it gets better?

Oh Lord, hear mah prayer. I need help, Lord. I need a muse, you know it? Or a writing buddy. A mentor! Or maybe just a sounding board and a good cigar. No, I need a ghost writer or maybe I should take up yoga. Or needlepoint. Something to calm me down. Maybe I need a puppy. Acupuncture. A lobotomy. A bottle of scotch. A bigger boat.

Ha.

Seriously, though–I need a plan. An idea. An ending for my novel ’cause my brain’s going all kinds of crazy right now and to top it all off, I do believe I’m having a bad, bad hair day. . .

8 thoughts on “getting kinda hairy

  1. I feel your pain! I’m at the exact place as you are with my novella. I keep hoping that something will spark an idea to get me over that last hump. Good luck! I hope you find your muse.

    • Good luck right back, my dear. Actually, I wrote that darn post then I pulled up EFFIN’ ALBERT, next thing you know my fingertips are dancing all over the keys! Wishing you the very, very same.

  2. OH MY GOSH IT’S LIKE YOU’RE IN MY HEAD. I’ve been feeling the exact same way about my WIP . . . the plot threads just aren’t dovetailing nicely like they ought to . . . (and I hate plotting; I like *writing*).

    I see from your above comment that everything has begun jigsawing together for you. Awesome! Best of luck!!

    • REALLY? I thought it got mighty cozy all of a sudden. 🙂

      Actually, I kicked butt for one chapter, but one is better than none. I shall be working that bad monkey post haste (meaning, maybe tomorrow :-)) Fear not, everything comes together eventually if it’s not fated to come apart. Hey, btw, I enjoyed your hubris blog post but I was outside and couldn’t remember my stupid password. I shall endeavor to commit that thing to memory. . .

      Tomorrow, maybe.

      ;-),

      • Fear not, everything comes together eventually if it’s not fated to come apart.

        Of course, my head always goes to: BUT WHAT IF IT’S FATED TO COME APART??? Aaaaa! 😉

        Hey, btw, I enjoyed your hubris blog post but I was outside and couldn’t remember my stupid password.

        Oh — thank you! Thank you very much! 🙂 (I keep thinking I should change my commenting system so it doesn’t require logging in, but enough people are registered that I’m afraid I would annoy people by changing it up. I’ve been thinking I should find a way to change it in a way that doesn’t destroy the old accounts . . . but I am not that tech savvy. *flails* It’s also possible I am overthinking this and I should just change to a more standard commenting system and people will be fine.)

  3. slhuang, you are a bright and creative being. I have no doubt it isn’t fated to come apart!!! As for your commenting system and all that, screw it, that’s my motto. I am a luddite but I can do it, just need the passwoid, that’s all. Overthinking it? Perish the thought! Anyway, you have bigger fish to fry, right?
    And sl, thank you so much for visiting my blog. Whenever I see a wonderful comment like yours, I feel like I just got a present!

    • Oh my gosh, you are the sweetest person ever! 😀

      I just discovered your blog, btw, and I really like it . . . especially love that post on AW a few entries ago. 🙂 Exactly how I feel.

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

