what the hell is an "anorack"?

I’m depleted today. I didn’t sleep worth a crap last night, finally got up at 2:45 a.m., totally uncomfortable, in every way imaginable. I couldn’t bear to be in my own skin. I fell asleep on the daybed and woke up soaked in sweat. I drank some Diet Vernors to ease my nausea and forced down four chunks of watermelon because I thought I should eat something. Physically, I feel like hammered shit. Emotionally, I’m as flat as a sheet of OfficeMax multiuse copypaper. Mentally, I’m fuzzy as a kiwi.

Welcome to my world.

So I was thinking, all right, I’ll just post some quotes or something. I’ve been perusing different blogs since starting mine and I’ve noticed a trend. Seems like people who don’t know what to write about just post what other people already wrote about. But honestly, I think it’s kind of a cop out to do that. If you don’t have anything to say, why say anything?

Fuck it, here’s a quote about blogging:

 “Blogs are for anoraks who couldn’t get published any other way.”

That quote from somebody named Janet Street-Porter, btw.  First thought: Hey, Miss Janet Street-Porter lady, that ain’t very nice, being as I’m writing a blog AND I’m trying to get my novel published. Who is this Janet Street-Porter anyway? Turns out, Ms. Street-Porter is a writer/former journalist and broadcaster, now “editor-at-large” for a British online journal: The Independent. From across the pond, I see. I shall keep my thoughts about THAT to myself, being as I don’t want to rankle the few friends I have.  Anyhoo, Ms. S-P has a website, holy shit: http://www.janetstreetporter.com/ It’s really quite something, I must admit. If I had the gumption, I bet I could spend all day dissecting that thing. I don’t have the gumption. Perhaps you do, my beloved readers, assuming you’re out there, and if you do, that’s fine with me.

Back to the quote now. What the hell is an “anorak”? I can’t help but think it is something unsavory. If you already know what an anorack is–you Brits might know–the following will likely bore you to tears, much as the preceding has already, in all likelihood, done. In that case, I think I should apologize to you twice.

I did a little digging and found an incredibly lengthy posted discussion about anoraks. Someone asked a question and a shitload of people answered, some quite passionately. I invite you to read or don’t read. I shall not proclaim you an anorak, either way.

As for me, I’m going to bed.

What do the British mean when they call somebody an “anorak”?

Peter Post, Boston USA

The answer is: of course, geeks. pathetic, arn’t they? no one in the U.S spots trains…ours are much more intense, usually bordering on insanity or C.O. disorder. I personally count patterns of flashing lights (turn signals, traffic lite changes, ect.)

charles nelson, detroit, michigan. usa

Charley, I spot trains! I go to the station, and spot trains. It’s actually quite fun. And I have been called an anorak by my Brit friend. I don’t take it as too much of an insult, although it’s meant to be one. Then again, I take geek and nerd as compliments as well. To use the definition in a britspeak dictionary, “A socialy inept person, obsessed with a hobby or intrest. Has little or no fashion sense, and errs towards eccentricy.”

Jen, New Jersey USA

Reading the replies above it has become clear to me that a train spotter who stands at the centre of a warm platform while the wind is not blowing is not, in fact, an anorak.

Dave, Swindon, UK

I recall from my university days that a geek was defined as a circus perfomer who bit the heads off of live chickens. Part of the great American circus and freak show traditions of my land. (although these traditions were doubtlessly inherited from superior European cultures.)

Peter R, New York US

http://www.guardian.co.uk/notesandqueries/query/0,5753,-19185,00.html

2 thoughts on “what the hell is an "anorack"?

Questions? Comments? Concerns? :)

